wet a´way – Scotland

break on an island - sound of sleat /wet a´way 2014

Hike, Paddle, Sail in the Western Highlands in November

Strong waves roll in the rocky bay close by Mallaig. A light breeze from the east drags untiringly thick rain fields near. The Sound of Sleat on the west coast of Scotland welcomes us rather unkindly. Should we really dare to paddle under these conditions directly to Kyle Rhea 30 kilometres farther north? We are still a little whacked from the last night in the tent not far from the Courour railway station.

Mhm, the Sandaig Bay on the other side is still just to be recognised. Now it´s 14.00 hours. If we want to be over there, before dusk, we have to start now!
OK, we get ready. Dry suit, life jacket, inflated packraft, backback lashed down – last powwow and go! The bearing points to Glass Eilean, however, over and over again the bow must turn to the slightly foam-crowned wave crest. Besides, an outward current claims power reserves thought to be lost. As twilight falls we land exhausted south of Torr h-Innse.

loch coulin /wet a´way 2014

On the next day we wait in vain for a weather improvement. To keep options open, Barrisdale Bay is the next destination. After Inverie and Gleann an Dubh- Lochain we climb the col next to Toman Odhar.
Rain pregnant clouds gather over Loch Hour, the nightly hail-storm has colored the summits white. A seldom tame north wind blows this morning. This favor we have to use and already soon our packrafts rush on crystal-clear water to the western end of the loch, to the Sound of Sleat. And we are not alone. As before on the ocean paddle Expedition San Quintín the seals and dolphins also escort us. A wounderful experience.

note: shift+drag = zoom window

meall sguman doubling /wet a´way 2014
About midday we are already at the entrance to the strait Kyle Rhea, nevertheless our hope to find a good Scottish meal somewhere on land will be disappointed. Further the paddles have to be hit. Dornie lies on our way. There should be a pub! After 29 raft kilometres and another 5 km on foot we reach the settlement. No! The pub is closed. Outrageouse!

Eventually we slurp our well- earned beers at the hotel bar and then fall into luxurious “Haia”.

The next day after Bundalloch and Glen Elchaig we reach Loch na Lèitrach. Further it goes on the Cape Wrath Trail towards Kinlochewe in the north. After a dry but icy night in the Maol-Bhuidhe the packrafts are pushed into the water of Loch Calavie. We set the sails and after 15 min the stiff tail wind has puffed us over the lake. Wow, in the new sail mode one makes headway wonderfully! We want absolutely more of that!

leathad view to meallan ghobhar /wet a´way 2014

We enjoy another long November evening in the rusic Bearnais hut with Saxon crime stories and wine by candlelight.
Sgúrrr Feartaig col, Allt a’Chonais, Craig – the small hostel is closed, grrr. . . Then it is some more stretch of road to trudge for a camp in the bush.
Finally, the sun comes through for longer and puts the Scottish scenery in worthy manner in the right light. Below the 1st Coulin bridge we raft to Loch Coulin today, paddle up to the outflow of Loch Clair. After 5 km walk the bunkhouse of Kinlochewe has been stormed. In the evening a likeable group of Scots join in. The first outdoor folk at all since we started 9 days ago.

mountain mirroring at loch ma-ruibhe /wet a´way 2014

Next day a beaming blue sky lures for a luggage-free “Wandertag” into the surroundings. It is calm and from the Meall a’Ghiuthais we overlook not only a big piece of the Western Highlands, but also the route of the paddle tour planned for tomorrow crossing Loch Maree to Poolewe.
Overnight wind arises – from the east. Bingo! Let´s sail! With an average of 6 km/h the wind drives the boats up to the end of the 20-km-long Loch. A successful end!
A little time even still remains for the ascent of Ben Nevis. Then we have to return to Saxony.

wet a´way – Schottland

break on an island - sound of sleat /wet a´way 2014

Wandern, Paddeln, Segeln in den Western Highlands im November

Kräftige Wellen rollen in die felsige Bucht nahe Mallaig. Eine leichte Brise aus Ost schleppt unermüdlich dicke Regenfelder heran. Der Sound of Sleat an der Westküste Schottlands empfängt uns recht unfreundlich. Sollten wir es bei diesen Bedingungen wirklich wagen direkt zum Kyle Rhea 30 Kilometer weiter nördlich zu paddeln? Wir sind noch etwas gerädert von der letzten Nacht im Zelt unweit der Courour Bahnstation.

Mhm, die Sandaig Bay auf der anderen Seite ist gerade so zu erkennen. Jetzt ist es 14 Uhr. Wenn wir bei Tageslicht noch da rüber wollen, müssen wir jetzt starten!
Ok, wir machen uns fertig. Trockenanzug, Schwimmweste, Packraft aufgeblasen, Gepäck festgezurrt – letzte Absprache und los geht’s! Die Peilung weist auf Glas Eilean, doch immer wieder muss der Bug den leicht gischtgekrönten Wellenbergen entgegengedreht werden. Zudem fordert eine auslaufende Gegenströmung verloren geglaubte Kraftreserven. Erschöpft landen wir mit Einbruch der Dunkelheit südlich von Torr na h-Innse.

loch coulin /wet a´way 2014

Am folgenden Tag warten wir vergeblich auf eine Wetterbesserung. Um Optionen offenzuhalten ist die Barrisdale Bay das nächste Ziel. Nach Inverie und Gleann an Dubh Lochain erklimmen wir den Pass am Toman Odhar.
Regenschwangere Wolken ziehen über Loch Hour, der nächtliche Hagelschauer hat die Gipfel weiß gepudert. Heute morgen bläst ein selten zahmer Nordwind. Diese Gunst müssen wir nutzten und schon rauschen unsere Packrafts auf dem glasklaren Wasser zum westlichen Ende des Lochs, zum Sound of Sleat.
Und wir sind nicht allein. Wie schon beim Meerespaddeln zur Expedition San Quintín eskortieren uns auch hier Robben und Delfine. Ein wunderbares Erlebnis.

[osm_map_v3 map_center=“57.435,-5.804″ zoom=“8.5″ width=“100%“ height=“450″ file_list=“http://gondwana.info/wp-content/uploads/gpx/SCT2014.gpx“ type=“outdoor“ file_color_list=“blue“ control=“scaleline“ map_border=“none“]

Hinweis: shift+drag = Zoomfenster

meall sguman doubling /wet a´way 2014

Gegen Mittag sind wir bereits am Eingang zur Meerenge Kyle Rhea, doch unsere Hoffnung an Land irgendwo schottisch speisen zu gehen wird enttäuscht. Also weiter in die Paddel hauen. Dornie liegt auf unserem Weg. Dort sollte es einen Pub geben! Nach 29 Raftkilometern und weiteren 5 km zu Fuss erreichen wir die Siedlung. Nein! Das Pub ist geschlossen. Unerhört!

Die wohlverdienten Biere schlürfen wir letztendlich in der Hotelbar und fallen danach auch dort in die luxuriöse Haia.

Über Bundalloch und Glen Elchaig erreichen wir am nächsten Tag Loch na Lèitrach. Weiter geht es auf dem Cape Wrath Trail Richtung Kinlochewe im Norden. Nach einer trockenen aber eisigen Nacht in der Maol-Bhuidhe werden die Packrafts am Loch Calavie ins Wasser geschoben. Wir setzten die Segel und nach 15 min hat uns der steife Rückenwind über den See gepustet. Wow, im neuen Segelmodus kommt man wunderbar voran! Davon wollen wir unbedingt mehr!

leathad view to meallan ghobhar /wet a´way 2014

Einen weiteren langen Novemberabend genießen wir in der urigen Bearnais Hut mit sächsischen Kriminalerzählungen und Wein bei Kerzenschein.
Sgúrrr na Feartaig Pass, Allt a´Chonais, Craig – das kleine Hostel ist geschlossen, grrr… Dann eben noch ein Stück weiter laufen und im Busch campen.
Endlich kommt auch mal für länger die Sonne durch und setzt die schottische Landschaft auf würdige Weise ins rechte Licht. Unterhalb der 1. Coulin-Brücke raften wir heute zum Loch Coulin, paddeln bis zum Ausfluss von Loch Clair. Nach 5 km Fussmarsch wird das Bunkhouse in Kinlochewe geentert. Am Abend kommt noch eine sympathische Schotten-Gruppe hinzu. Die ersten Outdoorer überhaupt seit wir vor 9 Tagen gestartet sind.

mountain mirroring at loch ma-ruibhe /wet a´way 2014

Am Tag darauf lockt ein strahlend blauer Himmel zu einem gepäcklosen „Wandertag“ in die Umgebung. Es ist windstill und vom Meall a´Ghiuthais überblicken wir nicht nur ein großes Stück der Western Highlands, sondern auch die Route der für morgen geplanten Paddeltour über das Loch Maree nach Poolewe.
Über Nacht kommt Wind auf – aus Osten. Bingo! Lasst uns segeln! Mit durchschnittlich 6 km/h treibt der Wind die Boote bis zum Ende des 20 km langen Lochs. Ein gelungener Abschluß!
Es ist sogar noch etwas Zeit für die Besteigung des Ben Nevis. Dann müssen wir nach Sachsen zurückkehren.