Expedition San Quintín – Chile

patagonian swamp /Expedition San Quintín 2014

Patagonia – The call of the wilderness

Patagonia chilena – original wilderness and deserted spaces. Located at the southwestern end of South America and still in some parts unexplored, especially the Chilean Patagonia for many people still are considered as the end of the world. The wonderfully untamed and majestic beauty of the region has really fascinated us 2012 on a journey with mountain bike and packraft. After 1½ months between Punta Arenas and Coyhaique was clear: “We need to return to the edges of the large ice fields very soon!”.
The focus layed on a field with plenty of water at the western side of the Campo de Hielo Norte, the North-Patagonian ice field. We also agreed about style and type of sensing: with a unsupported expedition on foot and by packraft we want to explore this pathless and completely civilization-free landscape of numerous rivers, fjords, swamps, glaciers and steep mountains.

–  –  –

shore of lsr /Expedition San Quintín 2014

Marooned – Everything is possible

After a 48-hours-journey from Saultitz in Saxony to Laguna San Rafael in the Región de Aysén and a speedy crossing by zodiac, we let us throw out on the western shore of the lagoon. When putting down, one of the two Chilean boatman pulls out his camera for a last “farewell photo”, a short time later we are on our own.
Behind us the deep green jungle wall of the terminal moraine, we stand on the shore of the huge lagoon in front of a panorama of glossy clear water densely filled with distinctively shaped icebergs of all sizes. Absolute silence wraps us up. With the unbelievable noiselessness of this magnificent scenery the practice of inner calmness and serenity adjusts itself very quickly, to tackle the next challenge. We are ready now – for everything.

– – –

lifelines /Expedition San Quintín 2014

Thought up – Route through pathless and man-free wilderness

Primarily we want use our packrafts as often as possible. This makes sense on the one hand around strengths to spare and to get on quickly, on the other hand with these brilliant light boats we reach places which no human soul has entered before yet. Every human work is missing at all. The often uncomfortable weather, relative inaccessibility and the national park status¹ has preserved the virgin nature before colonisation by human beings.
Till now only a handful of discoverers has penetrated into the area between ice field and Pazific coast subdivided by deep fiords and swampy plains. There really aren’t any useable paper Topos or GNSS maps. Satellite images are helpful and make many routes seem to be possible. Of course it usually looks more detailed on the spot.
Essentially the rough route consists of the following waypoints: Laguna San Rafael – Rio Negro – Rio Tadeo – Playa San Quintín – Laguna Benito – Glaciar HPN2 – Glaciar HPN3 – Glaciar San Quintín – Laguna Blanco – Laguna San Rafael.

¹ The National Park Laguna San Rafael is an UNESCO biosphere reserve and has an area of 17. 420 km².

Expedition San Quintín – Chile

patagonian swamp /Expedition San Quintín 2014

Patagonien – Der Ruf der Wildnis

Patagonia chilena – ursprüngliche Wildnis und menschenleere Weiten. Am südwestlichen Ende Südamerikas gelegen und bis heute in einigen Teilen unerforscht, gilt für viele Menschen besonders das chilenische Patagonien noch als das Ende der Welt. Die wunderbar ungebändigte und majestätische Schönheit dieser Region hat uns 2012 auf einer Reise mit Mountainbike und Packraft echt fasziniert. Nach 1½ Monaten zwischen Punta Arenas und Coyhaique war klar: „An die Ränder der großen Eisfelder müssen wir sehr bald zurückkehren!“.
Der Fokus lag auf einem wasserreichen Gebiet an der Westseite des Campo de Hielo Norte, dem Nordpatagonischen Eisfeld. Einigkeit bestand auch über Stil und Art der Erkundung: Mit einer unsupporteten Expedition zu Fuß und per Packraft wollen wir diese weglose und völlig zivilisationsfreie Landschaft aus zahlreichen Flüssen, Fjorden, Sümpfen, Gletschern und steilen Bergen erforschen.

–  –  –

shore of lsr /Expedition San Quintín 2014

Ausgesetzt – Alles ist offen

Nach reichlich 48 Stunden Anreise vom sächsischen Saultitz zur Laguna San Rafael in der Región de Aysén lassen wir uns mit einem schnellen Zodiac am Westufer der Lagune absetzen. Einer der beiden chilenischen Bootsführer zückt beim Ablegen noch seine Kamera für ein letztes „Abschiedsfoto“, kurze Zeit später sind wir allein.
Hinter uns die tiefgrüne Dschungelwand der Endmoräne, stehen wir am Ufer der riesigen Lagune vor einem Panorama aus spiegelblankem klaren Wasser dicht gefüllt mit markant geformten Eisbergen aller Größen. Absolute Stille hüllt uns ein. Mit der unglaublichen Geräuschlosigkeit dieser grandiosen Kulisse stellt sich schnell auch die gewohnte innere Ruhe und Gelassenheit ein, um die kommende Herausforderung anzugehen. Wir sind jetzt bereit – für alles.

– – –

lifelines /Expedition San Quintín 2014

Ausgedacht – Route durch weglose und menschenfreie Wildnis

Wir wollen primär so oft als möglich unsere Packrafts benutzen. Das ist einerseits sinnvoll um Kräfte zu schonen und flott voranzukommen, andererseits gelangen wir mit diesen genialen Leichtbooten an Orte, die zuvor noch keine Menschenseele betreten hat. Überhaupt fehlt hier jedes menschliche Wirken. Die oft ungemütliche Witterung, relative Unzugänglichkeit und der Nationalparkstatus¹ hat die jungfräuliche Natur bis heute vor einer Kolonisation durch den Menschen bewahrt.
In das von tiefen Fjorden und sumpfigen Ebenen gegliederte Gebiet zwischen Eisfeld und Pazifikküste sind bisher nur eine Handvoll Entdecker eingedrungen. Wirklich brauchbare Papiertopos oder GNSS-Karten gibt es keine. Satellitenaufnahmen sind hilfreich und lassen viele Routen möglich erscheinen. Vor Ort sieht es natürlich meist etwas differenzierter aus.
Die grobe Route besteht im Wesentlichen aus folgenden Wegpunkten: Laguna San Rafael – Rio Negro – Rio Tadeo – Playa San Quintín – Laguna Benito – Glaciar HPN2 – Glaciar HPN3 – Glaciar San Quintín – Laguna Blanco – Laguna San Rafael.

¹ Der Nationalpark Laguna San Rafael ist Biosphärenreservat der UNESCO und hat eine Fläche von 17.420 km².